I was commissioned by the The American Viola Society to write a piece for 5 violas, with varying degrees of difficulty amongst the 5 parts. The Immigrant was premiered at the 2021 American Viola Society Festival. This piece represents one of the many journeys music has taken through time and space, as it made it’s way from Europe to North America.

5 Short Excerpts From The ImmigrantChristian Colberg
00:00 / 03:15

Inspired by the great Spanish novel Don Quixote, Christian Colberg has composed an enduring viola concerto in three parts,  His dynamic and thrilling work was featured on the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra playbill in October 2018.

Viola Concerto - Alonzo
Viola Concerto - Aldonza
Viola Concerto - Sancho

Download your free copy of Audition Manifesto, A Guide to Taking Orchestral Auditions. This 34-page manuscript offers practical advise for musicians at all levels.

Knowledge is useless unless it is applied. — Christian Colberg